Immigration weekly update: April 13, 2023

Immigration news update for the APAC region



Australia: Extended area for Skilled Work Regional visa

The Australian government has announced  that the Skilled Work Regional visa (subclass 491) is now open to applicants living in metropolitan Melbourne. Onshore candidates living and/or working in metropolitan Melbourne can now submit a registration of Interest (ROI) for the Skilled Work Regional visa (subclass 491) nomination. Eligible foreign nationals must live, work and study in a regional area of Victoria (The Department of Home Affairs) for at least three years before they can apply for their subclass 191 visa, which provides permanent residency. After new Skilled Work Regional visa are granted it allows the individuals to live and work anywhere in Victoria for five years and it gives the opportunity to request permanent residence after three years.

This summary was prepared using information obtained from the State Government of Victoria

Japan: Electronic visa available

Effective March 27, 2023, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in Japan has announced that nationals and residents of the following countries can apply for a short-term stay visa via an online system E-Visa Japan: Brazil, Cambodia, Canada, Mongolia, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Africa, Taiwan, the United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom and the United States. This visa allows for travellers to stay in Japan for tourism purposes for a maximum period of 90 days. People of other nationalities have to apply for a visa at the Japanese Embassy or Consulate in their country of residence.

This summary was prepared using information obtained from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan

South Korea: New design for Residence Card

The authorities in South Korea have introduced a new style of Residence Card as of April 01, 2023. The current document does not need to be replaced immediately, since the new one will be issued as soon as it expires.

This summary was prepared using information obtained from the Korea Immigration Service

The temporary travel exemption

Officials in South Korea have announced the temporary exemption for the electronic travel authorization (E-KTA) for 22 countries with effect from April 01, 2023. The exemption will remain in place until 31 December 2024 as part of the celebration of ‘Visit Korea Year 2023- 2024’. This will apply to Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Italy, Japan, Macao, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Taiwan, the United Kingdom and the United States (including Guam). Any E-KTA approved earlier will remain valid until its expiry date.

This summary was prepared using information obtained from the Government of the Republic of Korea

Disclaimer: The above information is provided for general information purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice. If you have any further inquiries regarding the applicability of this information, please contact Debra Beynon (Regional Immigration Manager, APAC).

We track policy changes in over 120 countries. Find out how we can help you in this short video.

Related Topics

Share this Post