Brexit: The UK has officially left the EU – what is the impact on immigration rules?

After 47 years, The U.K. officially rescinded its membership in the European Union on January 31, 2020.

At first sight, it looks like not much will change. But after a transition period of 11 months, starting from January 1st 2021, immigration requirements will change significantly.

The UK is not the only country that will be affected by the proposed changes. EU nationals are entitled to Freedom of Movement and do not require a permit to live and work in other EU countries. However, with the UK no longer a member of the EU, its nationals’ immigration status has changed to that of an unprivileged third-country national. Consequently, several governments have published and or updated their immigration requirements as a result for the transition period, which will last until December 31, 2020.

We look at what some EU countries have done to minimize the impact on U.K. citizens planning to work and reside in the countries.

Download the document now!


Related Topics

Share this Post