The visa waiver program in Vietnam, benefiting citizens of five European countries (France, Germany, Italy, Spain and the United Kingdom), has been extended until June 30, 2017. Visitors from the five countries do not require a visa to enter Vietnam.

Important notes:

  1. Individuals from the five European countries must hold a passport or travel document valid for at least six months. They are allowed to enter Vietnam without a visa for a maximum stay of 15 days.
  2. Visa waiver individuals are only allowed to revisit Vietnam without a visa at least 30 days from the date of last departure.
  3. The program is intended for tourists and short-term business visitors. Productive work activities are not encouraged although it is not clearly specified in the policy.
  4. The authority will review the policy prior to its due date.

This summary was prepared using information obtained from the 56/NQ-CP announcement – signed on June 30, 2016, by the Vietnam Prime Minister, Nguyen Xuan Phuc. No online source available.

Disclaimer: The above information is provided for general information purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice. If you have any further inquiries regarding the applicability of this information, please contact our Regional Immigration Manager, APAC, Debra Beynon: