Announcement Regarding Re-Entry Permit Reimplementation of Re-Entry Permit Exemption as of April 1, 2022 after suspension due to COVID-19

The Re-Entry Permit Exemption which has been suspended since June 1, 2020 will be reimplemented as of April 1, 2022 according to changes in COVID response in the nation.

- ◎ With the re-implementation of the nation's Re-Entry Permit Exemption, registered foreign residents departing after April 1, 2022 will be allowed re-entry into the ROK within 1 year (2 years for permanent residents) from the date of departure, without obtaining a Re-entry Permit in advance.
- Set, registered foreign residents intending to re-enter the Republic of Korea after spending more than a year abroad from the date of departure should apply for a Multiple Re-entry Permit (granted for up to 2 years)
- ◎ Registered foreigners who have departed before April 1, 2022 with a Re-entry Permit should enter the ROK within the granted re-entry permit period (within 1 year), and should visit a Korean diplomatic mission abroad to extend the re-entry permit period in case entering the ROK within the relevant period is difficult due to COVID-19.

1. Persons Exempted from Re-entry Permit

□ Those Exempted from Re-entry Permit

○ (Registered Foreigners) Diplomat (A-1) through International Agreement (A-3), Korean Arts and Culture (D-1) through Dependent Family (F-3), Marriage Migrant (F-6) through Work and Visit (H-2) status holders for Re-entry into the ROK within 1 year from the date of departure

※ Re-entry will be allowed until the validity of stay for persons with period of stay of less than I year

- O (Permanent Resident, F-5) For re-entry within 2 years from the date of departure
- O (Overseas Korean, F-4) For re-entry within authorized period of stay
- (Holders of Refugee Travel Document) For re-entry within validity period of the document
- **(Those from Exempted Countries)** For re-entry of nationals from Exempted Countries* within authorized period of stay
 - * (13 Countries) Republic of Suriname, Netherlands, Norway, Denmark, Germany, Luxembourg, Belgium, Sweden, Switzerland, Liechtenstein, France, Finland, Chile (D-7, D-8, D-9)
- □ **Re-Entry Permit Exemption Ineligibility**
 - O Persons banned from entering Korea and persons to whom visa issuance is prohibited will need additional review procedures and re-entry permit can be restricted \rightarrow Please inquire at immigration offices

2. Those required to apply for Re-entry Permit

1 Applying for Multiple Re-Entry Permit

- (In principle) Registered foreigners exempted from Re-entry Permit should also apply for a multiple Re-entry Permit to re-enter the ROK after spending for more than 1 year and up to 2 years abroad from the date of departure, and a multiple Re-entry Permit can be granted for up to 2 years
- O (Exception) Granted period of multiple Re-entry permit may vary for those listed below
- Multiple Re-entry Permit can be granted for up to 3 years for

Corporate Investor (D-8) and Large Investors with long-term Resident (F-2-5) status holders

 It can be granted until incumbency in office ends for Diplomat (A-1), Foreign Government Official (A-2) and International Agreement (A-3) status holders with a single entry visa

2 Required Documents and Fees

- O (Documents to Submit) Passport, Foreign Resident Registration Card (Residence Card), Application Form
 - Persons with type A status (A-1, A-2, A-3) are required to additionally submit a document proving the incumbency period such as diplomatic identification card, official letter of cooperation from Embassy, certificate of employment
- O (Fees) 50,000 KRW

* Persons exempted from fees

- Nationals from Argentina (aged 14 years or less Only), Taiwan, Tunisia
- Scholarship students invited by government such as Korean Arts and Culture (D-1), Student (D-2), General Trainee (D-4) status holders who have submitted a certificate of scholarship or those with exemption request from the relevant organization
- Diplomat (A-1), Foreign Government Official (A-2), International Agreement (A-3), Corporate Investor (D-8) Status holders

* Fee reduction : 20% discount for using e-Application service on HiKorea

3 How to Apply

- O Through e-Application services on HiKorea website^{*}, in-person visits to immigration office, by proxy application through administrative agency
- * Applications are available until 3 days prior to departure date (Excluding Holidays)
 - (At jurisdictional Immigration Offices)

Single or multiple Re-entry Permits are applicable

- (At ports and airports nationwide) Only a single Re-entry Permit is applicable at ports and airports in principle. Yet, Corporate Investor (D-8) and Marriage Migrant (F-6) status holders can apply for a multiple Re-entry Permit.